REPORT FOR: ANNUAL COUNCIL

Date of Meeting: 24 May 2018

Subject: Return of Councillors and Notification of

Members of political groups, including Leaders, Deputy Leaders and Party

Whips

Responsible Officer: Hugh Peart – Director of Legal and

Governance Services

Exempt: No

Enclosures: Appendix A – List of Elected Members

Section 1 – Purpose

1. Summary

- 1.1 This report sets out details of the Councillors elected at the Election held on Thursday 3 May 2018 and the notification received of the Membership of political groups on the Council. It will be seen that there are 35 Labour Group Members and 28 Conservative Group Members.
- 1.2 Notification has been received that the Leader of the Majority Group is Councillor Graham Henson, the Deputy Leader, Councillor Keith Ferry and Chief Whip, Councillor Dean Gilligan. The Minority Party have notified that their Leader is Councillor Paul Osborn, the Deputy Leader, Councillor Marilyn Ashton and Chief Whip, Councillor Norman Stevenson.



Section 2 – Recommendations

- 2.1 That the return of Councillors elected, and their respective Wards, at the Borough Council elections on Thursday 3 May 2018, as set out in Appendix A, including the Membership of the respective political groups, be noted.
- 2.2 That the Group Officers, as set out in paragraph 1.2 above, be noted.

Section 3 - Contact Details and Background Papers

Contact:

Elaine McEachron, Democratic & Electoral Services Manager

Tel: 020 8424 1097

E-mail: elaine.mceachron@harrow.gov.uk

Background Papers:

Notifications from Parties